Excellence and Innovation Award


Edward M. McAleerThe McAleer Excellence and Innovation Award is designed to reward and acknowledge significant contributions to the mission and goals of the Extended University in the California State University System.  The first “Excellence in Innovation Award” was presented to Dr. Edward M. McAleer, Jr. in April, 2008.  The award is supported through the CSU Commission on the Extended University and is awarded annually. 


Edward M. McAleer was the State University Dean of Extended Education for the CSU System from 1993 until 2008.  During this time, he was instrumental in encouraging innovation in programs and collaboration among CSU campuses.  In honor of his achievements this award is to highlight and honor the contributions of CSU colleagues and at the same time to encourage both innovation and excellence.



A nominee for this award shall:


  • Be a CSU employee
  • Have significant professional experience
  • Have significant involvement in and support for Extended Education
  • Have a record of exemplary achievement
  • Exhibit innovative leadership


Nominations for this award may be submitted by university faculty, staff, administrators, student or alumni.  A completed application shall include:


  • A letter of nomination
  • Two letters of support
  • A 3- 5 page summary by the nominee highlighting contributions relevant to the award criteria




  • 2013: Marge Gordon, CSU Dominguez Hills
  • 2012: Ching Hua Wang, CSU Channel Islands
  • 2011: Alice Tom, CSU Sacramento
  • 2010: Harold Hellenbrand
  • 2009: Gail Whitaker
  • 2008: Edward M. McAleer